Version management

From SweepMe! Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Last updated for: Version 1.5.3.15

SweepMe! is under continuous development. This article will inform you about the meaning of the version number and how to handle different SweepMe! versions in order to simplify the migration to a newer version.

To get informed about new versions, follow us on Twitter

Version number

A SweepMe! version consists of 4 number e.g. 1.5.3.15

The possitions have the following meaning:

  1. The first number is related to the basic architecture of SweepMe! and this number would change if we would rebuild SweepMe! from scratch.
  2. The second number indicates a major change of the program that typically involves larger compatibility breaks.
  3. The third number refers to the development of new features, contents, optimizations etc. Smaller compatibility breaks are possible but we try to keep the program downward compatible as much as possible.
  4. The last number corresponds to the iterative bugfixing and testing that has been done so far for the version related to the first three numbers.

Version handling

Multiple versions of SweepMe! can be installed on the one computer at the same time. To keep track of all versions we recommend the following directory structure:

C:\SweepMe!\SweepMe!_x.x.x.x

where x.x.x.x is the version number. If you like to change to a newer version, you can install it in parallel to your existing version in order to test your settings. It might happen that some adaptions are needed to make your old settings working again. If everything works again, the old version can be removed just by deleting the folder. SweepMe! does not change the registry of the operating system, so that uninstalling SweepMe! via the operating systems is not needed.

Update vs. Upgrade

As the last number of the version is related to bugfixes, you can always update SweepMe! e.g. from version 1.5.3.15 to version 1.5.3.16 or higher without having trouble with changes in the program. If you encounter any bugs, please check first whether any download for your version, e.g. 1.5.3.x is available.

An upgrade is basically done if not just the last number of the version changes, e.g. a change from version 1.5.3.x to version 1.5.4.x. In that case, you have to read the Changelog and the Migration guide below to make sure that you do not miss any relevant changes.